If you Google image search for “trashy American hair”, more than half of the results are of black women (and their hair looks perfectly fine, as it happens). Considering they make up 10% of the US population, that’s beyond depressing – it’s nauseating.

Screen Shot 2015-02-04 at 10.58.35

I discovered this because I need to get my hair professionally done and I wanted to give the stylist an idea of what I *don’t* want, which is chemical-laden helmet TV anchor hair, like a Republican politician’s wife.

Turns out that most of those pics lead to stories about American Apparel being under fire for not wanting “trashy” unstraightened hair on black models. Charming.

If you haven’t seen it, watch Chris Rock’s documentary Good Hair. It’s a work of art – and the film he was born to make.

