I’m not normally into apps: the more you let technological tools do the leg-work, the less you use your brain, the less you remember, and the less you are capable of. Just my opinion (Louis CK agrees with me, however).

Also. I hate when they fail to do what they purport to. I cannot count the number of times Shazam has done fuck all.

But I think it’s brilliant when you use them to enhance your cognitive capacities, not ameliorate them. Anyhoodle. “Spider in da house” is THE BOMB. I believe (though I might be mistaken) that the charming creature floating above my doorway is a lovely female of the species Araneus diadematus.

Spiders rule. One of the best things I’ve ever seen: a battle between two insects.

Contestants: Spider vs. Bee.

Location: My garden.

Date: September 2008.

Winner: Spider.

01

