About six weeks ago I was so sapped of energy that I was unable to blog properly – so I compiled an entry out of half a dozen mini-entries.

Now I have the opposite problem – I have incredible amounts energy (despite the pathetic grey English skies hanging over my head every day). I have read so many newspapers and scribbled so many notes in the past week, that my list of things I want to blog about has grown to gargantuan proportions. So again I’m going to smush a bunch of things together into one entry so I can get these things out of my inbox. Here’s another Short and Sweet offering from Zoetic.

1. Scientists off the coast of Hawaii have captured what appears to be a cross between an octopus and a squid – which they have therefore named “octosquid.”

070706-squid-picture_big.jpg

Oooh, oooh, just what kind of cephalopod is it? I wait with bated breath. (I’m not being sarcastic. I am.)

2. Knut – the famous Berlin baby polar bear – is now breaching adolescence, and is no longer cute. In fact, he’s now downright dangerous (as polar bears tend to be), and his keeper will no longer be able to perform their little twice-daily play routine.

when-knut-attacks-berlin.jpg

I wonder if the loss of innocence and fame will make the little bear depressed. I hope he doesn’t cultivate a cocaine addiction or start flashing his genitals to the crowd or anything.

3. Here’s a great video of an iceberg collapsing. Unlike the video of the epic Serengeti battle between lions, water buffalo and crocs, this one is narrated by Canadian boaters (not annoying American tourists). Not only are their accents thoroughly adorable (eek! I LOVE East coasters), the cameraman does more than just point out the blindingly obvious – he’s seen these before and knows the drill. “That’s a pretty big founder, that’s probably as big as you’re ever going to see.”

4. A troop of about 100 grey-shanked douc monkeys have been spotted in Vietnam.

langur1.gif

This is a red-shanked douc – grey-shanked ones are far too rare to make for readily-found photographs. There are fewer than 1000 of the animals yet, and scientists say the discovery of this big troop gives a major boost to the species chances of survival. Kick ass.

5. There are now officially seven new wonders of the world: The Great Wall of China, Rome’s Colosseum, India’s Taj Mahal, Peru’s Machu Picchu, Brazil’s Statue of Christ Redeemer, Mexico’s Chichen Itza, and Jordan’s Petra.

The new list was compiled from more than 100 million votes, sent via the internet cellphone text messages, which whittled more than 200 nominees – including the Eiffel Tower, the Statue of Liberty, and Sydney’s Opera House – down to these seven. (The pyramids of Giza, the only remaining wonders of the ancient world, were allowed to retain their special status as a great wonder… whatever that means.)

According to this news piece,

Among the places left out were Stonehenge; the Acropolis in Athens, Greece; the Statues of Easter Island, Chile; Cambodia’s Angkor; Turkey’s Hagia Sophia; and Russia’s Kremlin and St. Basil’s Cathedral… The new architectural marvels were presented during a show which included appearances by American actress Hilary Swank, Indian actress Bipasha Basu, and British actor Ben Kingsley, as well as performances by Jennifer Lopez and Jose Carreras.

YAWN. They say the point of the election is “to encourage cultural diversity by supporting, preserving and restoring monuments, and inspire people to value their heritage.” Sounds more like those student council elections in university and highschool that I never voted for, which were little more than popularity contests masquerading as democratic exercises for the greater good.

6. OK, and lastly, I guess I should say something about Live Earth.

Um, uuhh…

Sigh.

It’s all been said before. From “This mega-event will finally catalyze the public to act,” to “This hedonistic self-congratulatory party won’t change anything but waste energy and burn more carbon,” to “Al Gore is ripping off Geldoff,” to “Al Gore is a rock star.” On and on and on. I don’t have anything new to add. And I didn’t watch it (no tickets to Wembly, no TV, couldn’t be bothered to compete for bandwidth on MSN).

OK, probably most of the people who went to Live Earth went to get drunk and watch Shakira shake her fantastic hips than think about how their actions affect the climate. No, most of them probably won’t change their behaviour that much. And yes, it does bother me a little bit that more people have heard what Kelly Clarkson, AFI, Akon and Fall Out Boy have to say about climate change than me. (And CHRIST that’s a shitty line-up.)

But desperate times call for desperate measures. I do not give a shit about how the message gets out, I just want it to reach people, by any means necessary. I just want the world – specifically, the world’s politicians – to wake the fuck up and implement some serious changes before it is too late (and it may already be too late). So I’m happy Live Earth happened, regardless of its flaws (even regardless that Chevy was one of the sponsors… honestly).

Although, I must say – I do wish Madonna hadn’t worn this.

75264355.jpg

Yikes. I’m all for staying in shape and loving your body at any age, but somebody needs to explain the concept of “aging gracefully” to her. It doesn’t look like that. It looks like this.

(And by the way, Madge, Suzy was campaigning for action on poverty in Africa before you could even pronounce “Uganda.”)

